Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

Bishop of Chelmsford

Rt Revd Stephen Cottrell

Main Road
Essex  CM4 0HD

Tel: 01277 352001
Fax: 01277 355374

Chaplain: Vacancy

PA: Mrs Mary Kersys

Assistant PA: Mrs Jane Carter

Director of Communications: Ralph Meloy
Tel: 01245 294424
Pager: 07654 382674

Area Bishops


The Rt Revd Peter Hill

Barking Lodge, Verulam Avenue, Walthamstow, London E17 8ES

Tel: 020 8509 7377
Fax: 020 8521 4097

Secretary: Mrs Jo Bluck


c/o Mrs Amanda Robinson, PA to the Bishop of Bradwell; based until further notice at Chelmsford Diocesan Office, 53 New Street, Chelmsford, CM1 1AT

Tel: 01375 673806
Fax: 01375 674222

Secretary: Mrs Amanda Robinson


The Rt Revd Roger Morris

1, Fitzwalter Road, Lexden, Colchester CO3 3SS

Tel: 01206 576648

Secretary: Michelle Wood

Assistant Bishops

The Rt Revd Norman Banks

Parkside House, Abbey Mill Lane, St Albans AL3 4HE

Tel: 01727 836358

The Rt Revd Dr Musonda Trevor Selwyn (Trevor) Mwamba

20 Sandringham Road, Barking IG11 9AB

Tel: 020 8594 4513

The Rt Revd Rod Thomas

Bishop's Lodge, Church Road, Worth, Crawley,  RH10 7RT

Tel: 01293 887465

Honorary Assistant Bishop

The Rt Revd Charles Derek (Derek) Bond

52 Horn Book, Saffron Walden, Essex CB11 3JW

Tel: 01799 521308

Dean of Chelmsford

The Very Revd Nicholas Henshall

Cathedral Office, 53 New Street, Chelmsford, CM1 1TY

Tel: 01245 294489, 

Secretary: Mrs Beverley Palmer


West Ham

The Ven Elwin W Cockett

86 Aldersbrook Road, Manor Park E12 5DH
Tel: 020 8989 8557
Fax: 020 8530 1311

Secretary: Mrs Debbie Kelly


The Venerable Dr John Perumbalath

11 Bridgefields Close, Hornchurch RM11 1GQ
Tel: 01708 474951 

Secretary: Fiona Greaves 


The Ven Elizabeth Snowden

The Archdeacon’s Lodge, 136 Broomfield Road, Chelmsford CM1 1RN
Tel: 01245 258257

Secretary:  Miss Helen Willis


The Ven Mike Lodge

Archdeacon's Lodge 459 Rayleigh Road, Thundersley, Benfleet SS7 3TH

Tel: 01268 779345

Secretary: Mrs Linda Thornton


The Ven Annette  J Cooper

63 Powers Hall End, Witham CM8 1NH
Tel: 01376 513130
Fax: 01376 500789

Secretary: Miss Angela Coote


The Ven Vanessa Herrick

Glebe House, Church Lane, Sheering, Bishop’s Stortford CM22 7NR
Tel: 01279 734524
Fax: 01279 734426

Secretary: Miss Jennifer Day


The Venerable Robin King

The House, The Street, Bradwell, Braintree CM77 8EL
Tel: 01376 563357

Secretary: Katharine King

Area Deans

Find contact details here.

Barking - Revd Martin J Court

Basildon - Revd Canon Dr Jane Freeman

Braintree - Revd Canon Beth Bendrey

Brentwood - Revd Canon Paul Hamilton

Chelmsford North - Revd Canon Tom Page

Chelmsford South - Revd Canon Andy Griffiths

Colchester - Revd Canon Paul Norrington

Dunmow & Stansted - Revd Canon Cilla Hawkes

Epping Forest & Ongar - Revd Canon Dr Joyce Smith

Hadleigh - Revd Canon David Tudor

Harlow - Revd Canon Martin Harris

Harwich - Revd Canon Simon Heron

Havering - Revd Canon David Hague

Hinckford - Revd Canon Jonathan Lowe

Maldon & Dengie - Revd Canon Mark North

Newham - Revd Canon Jeremy Fraser

Redbridge - Revd Canon Marie Segal

Rochford - Revd Canon Richard Jordan

Saffron Walden - Revd Canon David Tomlinson

Southend - Revd Canon Jonathan Collis

St Osyth - Revd Canon Pauline Scott

Thurrock - Revd Canon Darren Barlow

Waltham Forest - Revd Christine Rablen

Witham - Revd Canon Sally Lodge

Did you find what you were looking for or have any comments?