Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

    Charity for Licensed Ministers in the Diocese of Chelmsford

    Formerly known as the Essex Clergy Charity Corporation


    LMDC contact details

    Chelmsford Diocesan Evangelical Association (CDEA)

    Promoting communication among Evangelicals in the diocese - all are welcome at our meetings.

    Chair: Gordon Simmonds

    2a Castle Drive, Rayleigh, SS6 7HT  Email:

    Secretary: Revd Guy Thorburn

    St John's Vicarage, Valley Road, Great Clacton  Email:

    Children’s Society (The)

    Whitecross Studios, 50 Banner Street London, EC1Y 8ST

    Phone: 0300 303 7000   Email:


    Chief Executive: Mark Russell

    Relationship Manager for the Diocese of Chelmsford: Hannah Ratcliffe

    Phone: 07710 395824


    Christian Aid

    35 Lower Marsh, Waterloo, London, SE1 7RL

    Phone: 020 7620 4444   Email:


    Church Army

    Church Army, Marlowe House, 109 Station Road, Sidcup, Kent, DA15 7AD

    Phone: 020 8309 9991   Fax: 020 8309 3500

    Email:   Website:

    Church Commissionrs For England

    Church House, Gt Smith St, London SW1P 3NZ

    Phone: 020 7898 1000


    Secretary: Andrew Brown


    Churches Conservation Trust (The)

    We are the national charity protecting historic churches at risk. We’ve saved over 340 special buildings which attract more than 1.5 million visitors a year. With our help and with your support they are kept open, in use and free to all – living once again at the heart of their communities.

    1 West Smithfield, London EC1A 9EE

    Phone: 020 7213 0660   Fax: 020 7213 0678

    Email:   Website: 

    Development Manager: Mrs Chloe Cockerill

    Old Mill House, Weston Colville, Cambridge CB1 5NY

    Phone: 01223 290439

    Churches Together in England

    General Secretary: Revd Bill Snelson

    27 Tavistock Square, London, WC1H 9HH

    Phone: 020 7529 8141   Email:

    Churches Together in Essex and East London

    Ecumenical Development Officer for Essex and East London: Revd Lee Batson

    The Vicarage, Church Road, Boreham, CM3 3EG

    Phone: 01245 451087   Email:

    Church Housing Trust

    Fundraising to provide rehabilitation and resettlement for homeless people throughout the country.

    PO Box 50296, London EC1P 1WF

    Phone: 020 7269 1630   Email:


    Church Mission Society (CMS)

    CMS is a community of mission service; living a mission lifestyle; equipping people in mission service; sharing resources for mission work. CMS supports over 800 people in mission and works in over 60 countries with offices in Abuja, Kampala, London and Nairobi.

    CMS, Watlington Road, Oxford, OX4 6BZ

    Phone: 01865 787400   Fax: 01865 776375 

    Email:   Website:

    Church of England Foundation

    President: The Rt Hon. Nicholas Reade, Bishop of Blackburn

    Essex Area Representatives: Mr Don and Mrs Marilyn Smith

    Phone: 01206 841200

    Church of England Guild of Vergers


    General Secretary: Jeanne Scott


    Church Pastoral Aid Society

    Head Office: Athena Drive, Tachbrook Park, Warwick CV34 6NG

    Phone: 01926 458458   Email:


    General Director: Revd John Dunnet

    Church’s Ministry Among Jewish People (CMJ)

    Eagle Lodge, Hexgrave Hall Business Park, Farnsfield, Notts, NG22 8LS

    Phone: 01623 883960   Fax: 01623 884295

    Email:   Website:

    Church Union

    National Chairman: David G Llewelyn Morgan

    25 Newbiggen Street, Thaxted CM6 2QS

    Phone: 01371 830132 

    Diocesan Chairman: Revd Barry Hall

    Harvard Cottage, Swan Lane, Stock, Ingatestone CM4 9BQ

    Phone: 01277 840387

    Cory Environmental Trust in Southend-on-Sea

    Grants (often match funding) in the range £1,000 - £50,000, for repairs to Churches and improvements to public amenities (including church halls) within the Borough of Southend-on-Sea.

    Secretary: Graham Garner

    32 Claybrick Avenue, Hockley, Essex, SS5 4PS Phone: 01702 202484

    Council for the Care of Churches

    Church House, Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3NZ

    Secretary: Ms Paula Griffiths

    Phone: 020 7898 1866



    General Secretary: Revd Canon Andy Lines

    251 Lewisham Way, London SE4 1XF

    Phone: 020 8691 6111   Email:

    Church and Member Team Leader: Alan Purser

    Phone: 020 8691 6111   Email: