Menu

Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

Meet Canon Philip Need

Revd Canon Philip Need is our Diocesan Director of Ordinands (DDO).

The role of DDO is to listen to people who are sensing that God may be prompting them to explore a vocation as a priest. The DDO is attentive to the story of the individual’s life and faith as a whole.  A process of discernment helps the DDO decide whether to recommend to the Bishop that the person should be sent to a Bishop's Advisory Panel, who test the candidate's calling within the framework set by the Church of England and then recommend to their Bishop if they should be trained for Ordained Ministry.

Philip says:

My work as DDO sees people constantly making connections between their faith and wanting to offer themselves to God. There are so many ways now in which we can serve him as faithful members of the Church and we are trying to make it possible for people to answer their sense of calling in new and exciting ways.

If you have even a slight flicker of the idea that God might be calling YOU to ordination, speak to your local clergy."

To contact Philip email ddo@chelmsford.anglican.org or telephone 01245 294422


Assistant DDO

Philip works with one Assistant DDO -

Hilary Le Seve 
Tel: 01621 892867

 revhilary@btinternet.com

 

 

Prince Odoemena
Vocations Enabler

Prince Odoemena
Tel: 07529 989241

podoemena@chelmsford.anglican.org

 

Prince Odoemena

Lay Development Adviser

Revd Dr Elizabeth Jordan
Tel: 01245 294454

ejordan@chelmsford.anglican.org

 

 


Archdeaconry Young Vocations Champions

Barking
Saffron Ryan
saffronjjssp@gmail.com 07557 309979

West Ham
David Britton
rev.britton@gmail.com 020 8279 7738

Harlow
John Fry
revjefry@gmail.com 01992 812744

Chelmsford
Phil Sheldrake
revphilsheldrake@gmail.com 01245 269026

Southend
Suzie Fryer
rev.suzie@gttm.org or revdsuziefryer@gmail.com 01375 370884   

Colchester
Hannah Cooper
hannah@stlukescolchester.org.uk 01206 5982324

Stansted
Liz Paxton
liz@paxtonconsulting.co.uk 07932 160594

 


Youth Advisers 

Contact details for our youth advisers can be found here 


Vocations advisers

The Bishops have appointed a person in each Deanery who is available to people who would like to talk through their sense of vocation.

Vocation Advisers are not part of any formal selection process but are willing to offer advice.

They are also available to parishes and are willing to preach on vocations or speak at special events. 

Newham Deanery
Revd Christiana Asinugo
ccasinugo@yahoo.co.uk
020 8221 0902 

Havering Deanery
Revd Susannah Brasier
susannah.brasier@upminsterparish.co.uk
01708 220174

Redbridge Deanery
Revd Ola Franklin
ofrank@btinternet.com
020 8506 0662 

Epping Forest & Ongar Deanery
Revd John Fry
revjefry@gmail.com 
01992 812744

Revd Lydia Petitt
lydia@stmarysloughton.com
07769 694907

Harlow
Mrs Lis Scott
reader@scottsonline.org.uk
01279 442039

Barking and Dagenham Deanery
Revd Ray Descombes
descombes@gmail.com
020 8592 4691

Waltham Forest Deanery
Vacancy

Chelmsford North Deanery
Revd Carolyn Tibbott
revcat@outlook.com
01245 440319 

Chelmsford South Deanery
Revd Dr Stephen Need
swneed@gmail.com
01277 840442

Revd Miranda Seaman
seamanyoung@btinternet.com
01277 841921

Basildon Deanery
Revd Colin Hopkinson
cchopkinson@aol.com
01268 542156 

Brentwood Deanery
Mrs Lesley Lynn
freshwater_rhubarbs@hotmail.com
01277 220315

Revd Andy Smith
fatherandysmith@gmail.com
01277 514896

Maldon & Dengie Deanery
Vacancy 

Hadleigh Deanery
Revd Marion Walford
revmarion@googlemail.com
01268 698991

Southend Deanery
Revd Phyllis Owen
thephiz@blueyonder.co.uk
01702 353049

Thurrock Deanery
Revd David Rollins
drollins@btinternet.com
01375 673074

Rochford Deanery
Revd Ken Havey
kenneth.havey@btinternet.com
01702 203668

Braintree Deanery
Revd Sarah Hayward
sarah.hayward@talktalk.net
01376 617632

Dunmow and Stansted Deaneries
Revd Cilla Hawkes
cilla@hawkesfarming.co.uk
01371 856480

Colchester Deanery
Vacancy

Saffron Walden Deanery
Revd Margaret Davis
m.davis.sasha@gmail.com
01799 550703

Harwich Deanery
Vacancy

 St Osyth Deanery
Vacancy 

Witham Deanery
Vacancy 

Hinckford Deanery
Vacancy


For more information please contact Prince Odoemena
Is there anything wrong with this page?