Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

Bishop of Chelmsford Ordains 28 new deacons

16th Sep 2019

Saturday 14 September was wonderful day of celebrations as the Bishop of Chelmsford, the Right Reverend Stephen Cottrell, ordained 28 new Deacons at Chelmsford Cathedral.

Bishop Stephen said

It is a great joy that God is calling men and women to serve in the ordained ministry. It says in the Ordinal that deacons are ordained so that the people of God are better equipped to make Christ known. These new deacons will help the church help the world. It is all very good news indeed.”

Revd Canon Philip Need, the Diocesan Director of Ordinands, added:

It is fantastic that 28 new Deacons have been ordained this year. It is so exciting to work with the wide range of people who are offering themselves for ordained ministry as they seek to live out their baptismal calling and offer themselves afresh to God.

There are so many ways in which we can serve Him as faithful members of the Church and we are trying to make it possible for people to answer their sense of calling in new and exciting ways.

If you have even a slight flicker of the idea that God might be calling YOU to ordination, speak to your local clergy.”


Our 28 new Deacons at the Diocesan House of Retreat in Pleshey on the evening before their ordination with the Right Reverend Stephen Cottrell, Bishop of Chelmsford, the Right Reverend Roger Morris, Bishop of Colchester, the Right Reverend David Muriithi Ireri, The Bishop of Embu, The Right Reverend Sören Dalevi, Bishop of Karlstad, the Right Reverend Peter Hill, Bishop of Barking, the Right Reverend John Perumbalath, Bishop of Bradwell, the Diocesan Director of Ordinands, Revd Canon Philip Need, Chaplain to the Bishop of Chelmsford, Revd Mark Blakely, Assistant Director of Ordinands, Revd Hilary Le Seve, Vocations Enabler and Revd Canon Dr Adrian Chatfield, fellow of Ridley Hall Cambridge who was leading the Deacons on retreat.

Our new Deacons

Our new Deacons are:

Dan Scott - St John's Stratford

Marco Lopes - Holy Trinity Team Ministry, East Ham

James Gilder - St Edmund Chingford

Andrew Appiah - Holy Trinity Barkingside

Ajennie Subaran - Forest Gate Emmanuel w St Peter Upton Cross Katherine Ward - St Peter & St Paul & All Saints, Chingford

Marilyn Claydon - St Peter & St Paul & All Saints, Chingford

Eileen Rose - Leyton Emmanuel Parish Church

Nathan Joss-Pothen - Harlow Town Centre, St Paul and St Mary, Little Parndon

Beth Joss-Pothen - St Mary, Latton

Steve Opie - St Mary's, Loughton (@stmarysloughton)

Sam Maginnis - St John the Baptist, Loughton

Tania Payne - St John's, Buckhurst Hill

John Biddulph - Doddinghurst; St. Paul’s, Bentley Common, St. Nicholas, Kelvedon Hatch and St. Thomas, Navestock

Suzanne McAllister -St. John the Evangelist, Moulsham & St. Luke,

Jacqui Pearson - St Francis Community Church and Boreham, St Andrews

Judith Wilkinson -St Saviour, Westcliff-on-Sea

Gary Edwards - the United Benefice of Ashingdon with South Fambridge, Canewdon and Paglesham

Steve Lissenden - the Wickford & Runwell Team Ministry

Will Abbott - the Witham & Villages Team Ministry

Lisselle Clarke-Moisley - the Harwich Team Ministry

Maggie Whiteman -St Leonard, Lexden

Jacquie Messinger -St Leonard, Lexden

Tim Solosy - St John the Evangelist, Colchester

Anne Mason - St Luke's, Colchester

Roman Kukiewicz - All Saints, Rayne

Theresa Lowe - Two Rivers Benefice

Jo Parrott - Halstead Team Ministry


More information