Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

Area Deans and Lay Chairs to be made Canons

8th Oct 2015

The Area Deans and Lay Deanery Chairs of the Diocese of Chelmsford are to be appointed Non-Residentiary Canons of Chelmsford Cathedral.

They will join the College of Canons, a body of stakeholders who provide wisdom and support to the Cathedral and serve as ambassadors for the Cathedral in the Diocese. 

The Installation of the Canons will take place during Evensong, on Sunday 11 October 2015 at 3.30pm, in the Cathedral.

The following Area Deans are to be appointed Non-Residentiary Canons:

Revd Julie Fleming - Vicar, Becontree, St Mary and Area Dean, Barking & Dagenham.

Revd Dr Joyce Smith - Associate Vicar, Waltham Holy Cross Team Ministry and Area Dean, Epping Forest & Ongar.

Revd Martin Harris - Team Rector, Harlow Town Centre, St Paul with St Mary, Little Parndon Team Ministry and Area Dean, Harlow.

Revd David Hague - Vicar, Collier Row, Good Shepherd and Area Dean, Havering.

Revd Jeremy Fraser - Priest in Charge, Stratford, St Paul and St James and Area Dean, Newham.

Revd Marie Segal - Vicar, Great Ilford, St Andrew and Area Dean, Redbridge.

Revd Alex Summers - Vicar, Walthamstow, St Michael & All Angels and Area Dean, Waltham Forest.

Revd Paul Hamilton - Rector, Ingrave, St Nicholas and Area Dean, Brentwood.

Revd Margaret Shaw - Vicar, Basildon, St Andrews w Holy Cross and Area Dean, Basildon.

Revd Tom Page - Vicar, Chelmsford Ascension w All Saints and Area Dean, Chelmsford North.

Revd Andrew Griffiths - Vicar, Galleywood, St Michael & All Angels, Associate Priest Moulsham, St Luke Moulsham, St John the Evangelist and Widford, St Mary and Area Dean, Chelmsford South.

Revd Sandra Manley - Rector, Althorne & Latchingdon w North Fambridge, Cold Norton and Stow Maries and Area Dean, Maldon & Dengie.

Revd David Tudor - Team Rector, Canvey Island Team Ministry and Area Dean, Hadleigh.

Revd Jonathan Collis - Vicar, Thorpe Bay, St Augustine and Area Dean, Southend.

Revd Darren Barlow - Team Rector, Grays Thurrock Team Ministry and Area Dean, Thurrock.

Revd Richard Jordan - Priest in Charge, Rawreth, St Nicholas and Area Dean, Rochford.

Revd Geoff Bayliss - Priest in Charge, North Blackwater Parishes, Tollesbury and Area Dean, Witham.

Revd Elizabeth Bendrey - Rector, Black Notley, St Peter & St Paul and Area Dean, Braintree.

Revd Paul Norrington - Rector, Colchester, Chrsit Church w St Mary at the Walls and  Area Dean, Colchester.

Revd Cilla Hawkes - Associate Priest, Stebbing, St Mary Vn w Lindsell St Mary Vn, Great Sailing, St James, Little (Bardfield) Sailing, St Peter & St Paul and Area Dean, Dunmow & Stansted.

Revd Guy Thorburn - Vicar, Great Clacton, St John the Baptist and Area Dean, Harwich.

Revd David Tomlinson - Team Rector, Saffron Walden and Villages Team Ministry and Area Dean, Saffron Walden.

The following Lay Deanery Chairs are to be appointed Non-Residentiary Lay Canons:

Mr Dean Gillespie - Lay Chair, Barking & Dagenham Deanery.

Mr John Winterbotham - Lay Chair, Harlow Deanery.

Mrs Lynne Bennett - Lay Chair, Havering Deanery.

Mrs Shirley Biro - Lay Chair, Newham Deanery.

Mrs Jillian Leonard - Lay Chair, Redbridge Deanery.

Mrs Vevet Deer - Lay Chair, Waltham Forest Deanery.

Mr Paul Betts - Lay Chair, Brentwood Deanery.

Mrs Shirley Jeffrey - Lay Chair, Basildon Deanery.

Mr Robert Hammond - Lay Chair, Chelmsford North Deanery.

Mrs Christine Horton - Lay Chair, Chelmsford South Deanery.

Mr Adrian Smith - Lay Chair, Maldon & Dengie Deanery.

Mr Ronald McLernon - Lay Chair, Hadleigh Deanery.

Dr Linda Barnard - Lay Chair, Southend Deanery.

Mr Leslie Brock - Lay Chair, Thurrock Deanery.

Mr Mike Robinson - Lay Chair, Witham Deanery.

Mr Brian Vidler - Lay Chair, Hinckford Deanery.

Mr John Turton - Lay Chair, Braintree Deanery.

Mr Roger Ennals - Lay Chair, Colchester Deanery.

Mrs Belle Bezant - Lay Chair, Dunmow & Stansted Deanery.

Mr John Baker - Lay Chair, Harwich Deanery.

Mr Graham Cook - Lay Chair, Saffron Walden Deanery.

Mrs Wendy King - Lay Chair, St Osyth Deanery.