Transforming the communities of Essex & East London through Christ’s presence

New Deacons ordained

29th Jun 2015

Some 28 candidates have been ordained as Deacons by Stephen Cottrell, the Bishop of Chelmsford at three services on June 27 at Chelmsford Cathedral.

Philip Need, the Diocesan Director of Ordinands, has said:

Ordination services remind the whole Church of the ministry of the people of God. We need Deacons so that we have people in focal positions of leadership and service, people who walk with the Church and take others by the arm, providing a sacramental, pastoral and prophetic ministry in today’s world.

The picture shows (centre front) the Bishop of Chelmsford Stephen Cottrell, the Bishop of Bradwell John Wraw, the Diocesan Director of Ordinands Canon Philip Need, the Retreat Conductor Revd Ann Coleman and the Bishop of Chelmsford’s Chaplain Revd Leslie Rogers with the following new Deacons at the Diocesan House of Retreat in Pleshey on the evening before their Ordination at Chelmsford Cathedral:

Ivo Anderson -  Stratford, St Paul and St James
Richard Attew - Tye Green, St Stephen w Netteswell, St Andrew
David Bates - Mardyke Team Ministry
Milen Bennett - Stratford, St Paul and St James
Mark Blakely - Becontree South Team Ministry
Ray Descombes - Becontree South, St Alban and St Martin
Sue Finch - Great Baddow Team Ministry
Andrew Finn - Ingatestone, St Edmund & St Mary w Fryerning St Mary
Pauline Hart - Alresford, St Andrew
David Hoyte - Forest Gate, All Saints
Stuart Hull -  Springfield, Holy Trinity
Alex Jeewan - Witham Team Ministry
Simon Lewis - Becontree, St Mary
Tracy Marlow - Rayleigh Team Ministry
Caroline Martin - Berechurch, St Margaret
Elis Matthews - East Ham, St Paul
Olivia Maxfield-Coote - Black Notley
Lesley McGlynn - Canvey Island Team Ministry
Hilary Musker - Barkingside, St Laurence
Carol Newnham - Becontree, St Thomas
David Pierce - Westcliff, St Peter
Cherry Sandover - Leigh, St Clement
Dave Scott - Collier Row, Good Shepherd
Matt Simpkins - Wickford & Runwell Team Ministry
Lorraine Smart - Loughton, St Michael & All Angels
Neil Taylor - Chigwell and Chigwell Row Team Ministry
Austin Uzoigwe - Mardyke Team Ministry
Sue Wise - Wickford & Runwell Team Ministry

More pictures

Visit our galleries to view more pictures:

Role of Deacon

Twitter hashtag